Anyone who is arrested for drunk driving in the state of Maryland should consider hiring a Drunk Driving Attorney in Bel Air MD as quickly as possible. Whether the charge is Driving While Intoxicated or Driving Under the Influence, the penalties are typically the same. Maryland penalties are particularly severe, and even the very first conviction can have a very negative impact on a person’s life long term.
If a person is convicted of Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated, even with no previous offenses at all, they can end up in jail for as long as one year. The fines that the convicted person will face are typically very high when compared to other states. As much as $1,000 in fines is charged to anyone who gets a first DWI or DUI. The state of Maryland also has a mandatory driver’s license suspension for anyone who is convicted of DWI or DUI. This suspension lasts for six months minimum, but can be extended to as much as a year at the judge’s discretion.
The second DUI or DWI conviction becomes even more serious. The jail time can go up to two years, and the fines are as much as $2,000. As with a first conviction, the driver’s license suspension is mandatory. Convicted individuals will lose their right to drive a motor vehicle for up to one year. When a third DUI or DWI occurs, the penalties rise again. The jail time is up to 18 months, while the fines will be as much as $3,000. After a second or third DWI or DUI, the judge can order the individual to get an Ignition Interlock Device on their car. This device tests the driver for the presence of alcohol before they are allowed to start the vehicle and drive.
The best way to avoid these penalties is simple: A very strong defense. The only way to mount an iron strong defense is to work with a highly experience drunk driving lawyer.
Be the first to like.