As tough as the laws are about drinking and driving, some people still manage to somehow forget that and end up getting charged with a DUI or a DWI. When that happens, the person charged has to worry about the terrible consequences that could follow him or her for the rest of his or her life. There are DUI Lawyers in Auburn Indiana who help clients who are facing such painful consequences of drunk driving. Here are some of the laws that clients should be aware of about drunk driving in Indiana.
The Laws Regarding Drunk Driving in Indiana
One of the biggest mistakes people make that gets them charged with drunk driving is not understanding how little it takes to be considered too drunk to drive. As a standard rule, if an adult driver’s blood alcohol content rate is .08 percent or more, they are considered legally drunk and can be charged with a DUI or a DWI. If the driver has a commercial driver’s license, they can be charged with drunk driving at .04 percent. A driver under the age of 21 is considered a drunk driver if their alcohol content level is .02 percent.
More on Drunk Driving Laws in Indiana
Indiana is a state rather strict on drunk driving and offers extreme penalties for first-time offenders. For the first offense, a drunk driver can get as much as one year in jail, a suspended license for two years, and a $5,000 fine. If a driver refuses to submit to a blood-alcohol test by a law enforcement official, they will automatically be fined and have the driver’s license suspended.
Who to Call in Auburn, Indiana
Yoder & Kraus are attorneys who have been providing legal solutions for clients in the Auburn, Indiana area for more than 54 years. In addition to helping with drunk driving charges, the attorneys also represent clients for personal injury cases, Medicaid issues, real estate law, elder law and criminal law. Any individuals in need of DUI lawyers in Auburn, Indiana can contact these attorneys. More information can be found at www.yoderandkraus.com. Visit our Google+ page.
Be the first to like.